top of page

Psychiatric Hospitalization

After finally getting in touch with my doctor for the second day in a row, I have an appointment to see him at 4:45. The statement that scared me the most was, "I will do everything I can, but you may have to be hospitalized". I have never been inpatient before; I have worked for multiple hospitals in ICU's and CCU's and have heard horror stories of psych hospitals. When I attended an outpatient facility through St. Joes Ann Arbor called Huron Oaks, all you heard was how everyone was so happy to be out of the dungeon, and it was nice to be able to go home each night! It scares the shit out of me. What is it? What does it entail? How will I be treated? How are the other inpatients going to be towards me? Is it going to help me get better, or am I going to do everything that I can to get out of that place. I hope they have times where my family can come and visit me, and allow me to bring my computer to that I can continue to decompress through my blog and keep in touch with the ones who care for me. I am also concerned about school. Currently I am taking 12 credits, one of the classes is on campus, and the others are online! If I do not have my computer then it will be a waste of an entire semester! Let’s be honest, I am just fucking sacred of the unknown I pray that my doctor can keep me out, but in reality if that is what’s, going to help me get more stable, then that is was I am going to have to do!!!

bottom of page