top of page

Just a Couple Thoughts

Does anyone ever wonder what the long term effect that all the medications that we take will have on our bodies? Not that I am going to stop taking my medications, and I am not suggesting that you stop taking your medications, but I find it that amazing that a minor adjustments in medications can stabilize someone that is depressed and or manic. Recently, I notice that some of my symptoms of my previous episode was starting to break through, such as my weepiness, rapid cycling, which has been more focused on the depressive end of the spectrum, and some other symptoms. So trying to be proactive, I contacted my doctor. It was confirmed that I have post-manic depression, Yayyyy. So in this post-manic depressive state, my doctor added 150 mg of Wellbutrin, totaling 300mg. I haven't felt the effects yet, due to just switching, but isn't it amazing. I feel like it is a big guessing game. They look at your records and say "well, lets up your Seroquel and your Risperdal and we’ll see in two weeks". What can you say besides, ok sounds good to me, anything that will help me feel better. I equate them to magicians, and pulling a rabbit out of their hats. It is fascinating!

Due to my manic episode, which I have to say was much more fun than my depressive state, I was out of work so long that they had to lay me off. So now I am suffering from depression, in which I have to fight to get up every morning instead of lying in bed all day, and at the same time look for a job, which is depressing in its self.

I am sorry, I am not the type of person that looks at the glass half empty, so I am going to switch it up. I have enough control and motivation to get up every morning, workout, which helps significantly with my depression, and I have the determination to find a job. Believe it or not I have so prospects in the pipeline, just waiting to hear back. I think waiting is the hardest part of my current situation; waiting to hear back about a job, waiting for my wife to get home, waiting for my medications kick in so that I feel better, waiting to at the doctor’s office, waiting for my life to restart, etc...So wish me luck!

I know this blog is different from my other blogs, I was bored and felt like talking to people who understand what I am going though. Sometimes just talking to people who have been in your shoes, relieves stress, and makes you feel less lonely, and I think that is where I am at in this mind game. I appreciate everyone who looks and comments on my blog, keep the comments coming, I would like to make it something like and open forum. I will be adding some informational blogs shortly, any suggestions on which topics you would like researched?

Question: To see my Psychiatrist, are you required to see your Psychologist? Where I see my doctor I am required to see my Psychologist at least once a month or they will close my case. Does that seem weird or is that common practice?


bottom of page